1148 190423

The Team


Antarctic Science Platform Director Nancy Bertler

Nancy has led 13 field expeditions in Antarctica and major initiatives to investigate climate history using Antarctic ice cores. She is best known for her leadership of the 9-nation Roosevelt Island Climate Evolution Programme (RICE). Nancy is an Associate Professor at the Antarctic Research Centre at Victoria University of Wellington and a Senior Scientist at GNS Science. She has served as the inaugural chair of Antarctic Climate 21, an international initiative by the Scientific Committee of Antarctic Research (SCAR) to improve 21st Century projections for Antarctica and the Southern Ocean.

Fiona Shanhun

Antarctica New Zealand Chief Scientific Advisor Dr Fiona Shanhun

Fiona has been involved in Antarctic research for over 14 years and has led field expeditions with both the New Zealand and Australian programmes. Her PhD focused on Antarctic Dry Valley soils and she joined Antarctica New Zealand in 2014. Fiona now leads the science team, supporting the delivery of world-class research and the communication of research findings. She is a former Scientific Committee on Antarctic Fellow and leads New Zealand’s annual Ross Sea Adélie penguin census which began in the early 1980s.

Tim Naish

Programme Leader Professor Tim Naish

Leads the programme that focuses on ice-ocean-atmosphere interaction.

A Professor in Earth Sciences at the Antarctic Research Centre, Victoria University of Wellington, Tim has participated in over 14 expeditions to Antarctica. He was the director of the Antarctic Research Centre between 2008 and 2017 before taking up a Royal Society of New Zealand James Cook Fellowship. His research focuses on past, present and future climate change with specific emphasis on how the Antarctic ice sheets respond to climate change and influence global sea-level. Tim helped found ANDRILL, and holds leadership positions in the World Climate Research Program and the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research.

Ian Hawes

Programme Leader Professor Ian Hawes

Leads the programme investigating the Ross Sea region ecosystems

A Professor of Aquatic Science at the University of Waikato, Ian has been involved in polar research for 40 years. He initially worked with the British Antarctic Survey and, since moving to NZ in 1989, has been involved in research into inland and coastal waters in the Ross Sea Region. He has worked with a range of national operators in Arctic and Antarctic settings and maintains an extensive network of international collaborators. His research focus is on understanding change in Antarctic ecosystems. He coordinates the ecosystems research program.


Antarctic Science Platform Manager Caroline Pratt

Caroline is a Research Management professional with around 25 years experience in several research environments, including a Centre of Research Excellence, Lincoln University, The University of Auckland, Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research and a Private Research Provider. She has a well-developed track record of positive engagement with the scientific community in New Zealand and brings a science management background to the Antarctic Science Platform. She is also a long-standing member of the Australasian Research Management Society (ARMS) and in 2017, became the first New Zealander to gain Advanced Level Accreditation with the Society. She now holds dual accreditation at both Foundation and Advanced Level.

Independent Science Panel

Steering Group